Cuyahoga Falls 330 923 8604
North Canton 330 768 7643

Customer Reviews

Jim & Sons Transmission invites you to read the customer reviews & check rating scores for the repairs and services done at our 2 family-owned transmission repair shops serving the Akron area. We hope that when "best transmission shops near me" or "best auto mechanic near me" is searched on websites like Google, Yahoo, or Yelp, Jim & Sons Transmission will be found to have the best customer ratings and reviews than any of the other transmission repair shops in Cuyahoga Falls, North Canton, or the greater Akron area . Please feel free to request a price quote or schedule an appointment at any time using our online forms.
Share Review
  • We just wanted to take a moment to thank you for the excellent service we received at your shop. Our truck was ready when you said it would be ready. When we experienced a problem with the truck shortly after the repair, it was towed promptly and fixed immediately. There was no additional charge even though it had nothing to do with the original repair. With service like Jim & Son's I understand why you're the best transmission shop in the Akron Ohio area! Thank you again for a great job.

    Brennan Kolton – Stow Ohio
    10/2/2010
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • My 4 wheel drive hasn't worked in about 3 years. Finally having put the funds together to even think about getting it looked at, I sought out a garage. The important aspect was getting a garage to diagnose the problem correctly, I didn't want someone just throwing parts at it, hoping to fix the problem. Another garage recommended Jim & Sons. Dan diagnosed 2 different problems, with a cost factor for each. I will say I am amazed at the accurate diagnostics along staying true to the estimates! To further better the experience at Jim & Sons, the problems were fixed 2 days prior than expected. Although I only got to try out the 4 wheel drive in the snow for the last big snow we had, I'm impressed. Jim & Sons doesn't only fix transmissions, but axles & computer related problems as well. Thank you Dan & Amanda for keeping me updated with the expected return of my vehicle depending on availability of the parts you had to order. I was surprised they had rental vehicles at a reasonable rate. They even offered a ride back home after I dropped off my vehicle! I highly recommend Jim & Sons.

    Carl Brown – Stow Ohio
    9/3/2012
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I would recommend Jim & Sons to everyone. Thought I had a transmissions problem for several months, afraid to go to the dealer!!!They got me right in, great service & excellent price. Was not a transmission problem at all!!! Thank you everyone at Jim & Sons!

    Tom Callihan – Akron Ohio
    4/15/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Fantastic! Did the job well for a great price. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I won't take my car anywhere else. Would recommend to anyone!

    Nathan Swift – Cleveland Ohio
    2/24/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Thank you for the resurrection of my Honda CRV. The transmission went out on it and after getting an estimate from another garage I had it brought into Jim & Sons. They towed the car, diagnosed the problem, gave me an estimate and even had it towed back to my house. At first we were going to just sell it as the cost was hard to swallow for a 2001 with 175K miles BUT with their estimate was a comment that the rest of the car was in very good shape and would last as long as the transmission. After deciding on the fix they towed it back to the shop - FREE OF CHARGE - and advised me of the updated estimate after then got into it. The fixed it in record time and even fixed a couple of other issues for the cost of the parts only. The car runs and handles like new. THANKS GUYS for saving me another car payment and giving new life AND VALUE to my CRV!

    Heath Katy & Nolan Taylor – Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
    6/2/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • On February 4th we brought our Town & Country to Jim's Transmission for problems with the vehicle shifting on its own at times. With 250,000 miles on it we expected the worst. Jims diagnosed the problem as a leaking pan and the need for a new seleniod kit The owner even gave me a ride home since I wanted to leave the car overnight. It was ready on the 6th. The bill was far less then I anticipated and the service was outstanding. Highly recommend Jim's for your transmission repairs. Martin C............Hudson

    Martin Catalano – Hudson Ohio
    2/6/2013
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Outstanding customer service, reasonably priced, and quality work characterize Jim & Sons Transmissions from my experience. I took my 2000 Honda Accord to them nearly two years ago to rebuild the transmission, primarily because they provided the lowest estimate and because of the good reviews I saw. I was not disappointed. They fixed the transmission for the price stated and everyone on their staff was a pleasure to work with. They kept me informed of the progress and finished the work on time. They also back their work. Most recently I had a different, intermittent issue with the same car. Although I live more than 300 miles away, I took my car to them again. They worked with me to find a rental car while they troubleshot the issue. They showed their expertise in finding and fixing the problem and were extremely fair, even though the car was outside warranty. This impressive family run business seems to care about integrity first, over profit. I wish more businesses were run like Jim & Sons Transmission.

    Dave P. – Baltimore Maryland
    10/17/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • We all dread having our transmission go on our vehicles, but if you have to have it repaired go to Jim & Sons Transmission Specialists. They are very informative, honest, and make the process as painless as possible. Everyone that worked there was very friendly.

    Laure Gauntner – Ravenna Ohio
    3/12/2013
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Hi! My name is Dean Stevens, and I cant tell you how pleased I am with Jim and Sons Transmission! I have had my wifes Beetle to the dealer, the biggest and most well known transmission shop in the youngstown area, and twice to a foreign car shop in streetsboro! After 8 months of people telling us nothing was wrong( car slamming into gears up and downshifting) we got lucky and found jim and sons! No I did not need a new transmission like i was told by a vw guru, i just needed a valvebody in which was very reasonable! Jim and sons did their magic to our Bug and now it is perfect( no more banging and slamming) Anybody EVER needing transmission service, you need only to go to Jim and Sons in Akron or Canton , you will never regret it!

    Dean Stevens – Diamond Ohio
    11/10/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Jim and Sons Transmission is a very honest and professional shop. My family has been satisfied customers of Jim & Sons since 1985. Jim has rebuilt and serviced transmissions in many vehicles over the years for my dad. I currently live an hour away, but still bring my vehicles to Jim for service. I even brought my vehicles to Jim for service when I lived in Cincinnati for 8 years. Jim has done all the transmission, transfer case, and differential services on my 2005 F150 with 173,000 miles on it. Jim's shop overhauled the rear differential in 2010 and most recently replaced the clutch pack assembly in my 2005 F150. I have been completely satisfied with all the work, and appreciate the honesty from all of Jim's employees. I highly recommend Jim & Sons in Cuyahoga Falls or Canton for any transmission or driveline repairs or service. You won't find a better shop.

    Ryan Meffley – Homerville Ohio
    8/7/2013
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction

1 of 2