Cuyahoga Falls 330 923 8604
North Canton 330 768 7643

Customer Reviews

Jim & Sons Transmission invites you to read the customer reviews & check rating scores for the repairs and services done at our 2 family-owned transmission repair shops serving the Akron area. We hope that when "best transmission shops near me" or "best auto mechanic near me" is searched on websites like Google, Yahoo, or Yelp, Jim & Sons Transmission will be found to have the best customer ratings and reviews than any of the other transmission repair shops in Cuyahoga Falls, North Canton, or the greater Akron area . Please feel free to request a price quote or schedule an appointment at any time using our online forms.
Share Review
  • If Jim & Sons were a religion, I would sign up. At 4:30 on the Friday afternoon before a holiday weekend my transmission failed while towing a camper. A local dealership recommended J&S's. Tiffany assured me they could handle the job but not until Tuesday following Memorial Day. She provided me a recommended tow service that was able to come get the vehicle (out-of-town) on Sunday. They called me on Tuesday and promised an estimate by Thursday. They called Wednesday with the estimate and promised I'd have the vehicle back on Monday or Tuesday the following week. I was elated when they called on Friday morning to tell me the vehicle was ready to pick up with no surprises about my bill. They worked out all the details with the warranty company so I didn't have to get involved at all. These folks know how to provide customer service! Very prompt and professional and a great warranty to boot!

    Pat Saueressig – Stow Ohio
    6/6/2016
    Our Response

    Pat, thanks so much for the nice review. its our main goal to help our customers with transportation problems like yours.

    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I brought my car to Jim and Sons in Cuyahoga Falls on recommendation from John at Dennings Auto in Kent. I am good friends with him and trust his judgement since usually its me or him that does all the work on my vehicles. I initially was impressed with the facility, definitely a nice clean shop. My 2003 Buick Lesabre had the check engine light on and was throwing transmission codes. I got at least 4 calls in the 2 days the car was there, informing me of exactly what they were doing, and giving me firm estimates of what we're looking at in price. In the end the fix ended up being somewhat simple and cost efficient. They made sure to make me aware of what the cost of the fix was going to be and what my overall cost would be including the labor costs I had already been made aware of. When I got the car back I was definitely satisfied with the repairs. I took it to e-check and it passed with no problems. In the end I was provided a quality service for an affordable price I feel. The staff at this location were also very nice and accommodating, which is appreciated. I would definitely recommend your shop and I will be coming back if I have any transmission issues.

    James Johnson – Kent Ohio
    3/2/2016
    Our Response

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our transmission repair shop in Cuyahoga Falls. We are always happy when someone comes from as far away as Kent for transmission repair.

    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Great service and people. Max even cleared the snow and ice off my windows when I started my truck up to leave.

    Tim McMahon – Stow Ohio
    2/26/2016
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Hi! My name is Dean Stevens, and I cant tell you how pleased I am with Jim and Sons Transmission! I have had my wifes Beetle to the dealer, the biggest and most well known transmission shop in the youngstown area, and twice to a foreign car shop in streetsboro! After 8 months of people telling us nothing was wrong( car slamming into gears up and downshifting) we got lucky and found jim and sons! No I did not need a new transmission like i was told by a vw guru, i just needed a valvebody in which was very reasonable! Jim and sons did their magic to our Bug and now it is perfect( no more banging and slamming) Anybody EVER needing transmission service, you need only to go to Jim and Sons in Akron or Canton , you will never regret it!

    Dean Stevens – Diamond Ohio
    11/10/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Outstanding customer service, reasonably priced, and quality work characterize Jim & Sons Transmissions from my experience. I took my 2000 Honda Accord to them nearly two years ago to rebuild the transmission, primarily because they provided the lowest estimate and because of the good reviews I saw. I was not disappointed. They fixed the transmission for the price stated and everyone on their staff was a pleasure to work with. They kept me informed of the progress and finished the work on time. They also back their work. Most recently I had a different, intermittent issue with the same car. Although I live more than 300 miles away, I took my car to them again. They worked with me to find a rental car while they troubleshot the issue. They showed their expertise in finding and fixing the problem and were extremely fair, even though the car was outside warranty. This impressive family run business seems to care about integrity first, over profit. I wish more businesses were run like Jim & Sons Transmission.

    Dave P. – Baltimore Maryland
    10/17/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Truly a repair shop that can be TRUSTED....I took my mother's 2007 Mercury Mountaineer there after a local dealership quoted a $4,500 repair for the transmission, Jim and Sons completed the work for less than $2,300. I then decided to take my 2008 GMC 2500HD there after another dealership recommended a $2,000 repair for a re-manufactured transfer case, Max assured me he would check it out completely, after keeping me informed throughout the entire process he and his brother found some loose wire connections, fixed those and did a complete service on the transfer case ALL for less than $300.00. Truck drives fine again. They have definitely earned my trust from here on out. I cannot say enough for them and the other staff. Please don't hesitate to take your vehicle there.Thanks again,Tom Adamson

    Tom Adamson – Stow Ohio
    10/3/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I had a serious noise in the rear differential of my 2002 Blazer. With 205,000 miles on it, I was not surprised. These guys were great. Free diagnostics, and they gave me two options for the repairs. I chose and they fixed. The cost was much less than I expected. Now it is ready for another 100,000 miles. I was treated well, and I highly recommend this shop for any drivetrain repairs you need.

    Ray Woods – Akron Ohio
    7/11/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Thank you for the resurrection of my Honda CRV. The transmission went out on it and after getting an estimate from another garage I had it brought into Jim & Sons. They towed the car, diagnosed the problem, gave me an estimate and even had it towed back to my house. At first we were going to just sell it as the cost was hard to swallow for a 2001 with 175K miles BUT with their estimate was a comment that the rest of the car was in very good shape and would last as long as the transmission. After deciding on the fix they towed it back to the shop - FREE OF CHARGE - and advised me of the updated estimate after then got into it. The fixed it in record time and even fixed a couple of other issues for the cost of the parts only. The car runs and handles like new. THANKS GUYS for saving me another car payment and giving new life AND VALUE to my CRV!

    Heath Katy & Nolan Taylor – Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
    6/2/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I would recommend Jim & Sons to everyone. Thought I had a transmissions problem for several months, afraid to go to the dealer!!!They got me right in, great service & excellent price. Was not a transmission problem at all!!! Thank you everyone at Jim & Sons!

    Tom Callihan – Akron Ohio
    4/15/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Fantastic! Did the job well for a great price. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I won't take my car anywhere else. Would recommend to anyone!

    Nathan Swift – Cleveland Ohio
    2/24/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction