Cuyahoga Falls 330 923 8604
North Canton 330 768 7643

Customer Reviews

Jim & Sons Transmission invites you to read the customer reviews & check rating scores for the repairs and services done at our 2 family-owned transmission repair shops serving the Akron area. We hope that when "best transmission shops near me" or "best auto mechanic near me" is searched on websites like Google, Yahoo, or Yelp, Jim & Sons Transmission will be found to have the best customer ratings and reviews than any of the other transmission repair shops in Cuyahoga Falls, North Canton, or the greater Akron area . Please feel free to request a price quote or schedule an appointment at any time using our online forms.
Share Review
  • Thanks everybody who put the extra effort in to getting my Dakota fixed up! These guys, Dan and Max in particular, put the time and care into working around my schedule and properly diagnosing the problem and keeping me posted with updates as they had them. Real people solving real problems!

    Jason Smith – Stow Ohio
    2/1/2010
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Had a very expensive Avanti updated with a five speed transmission. The work was flawless. My car drives like a dream now, the attention to detail...well is just unheard of anymore! Nice to do business with professionals... they are the best..

    Hugh mclaughlin – cuyahoga falls Ohio
    9/2/2012
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Thank you very much for your honesty and kindness. I was very impressed with your politeness both over the phone and in person. It was nice to deal with a business that cares and makes the customer feel like they can ask questions.

    Tom Pollock – Mogadore Ohio
    10/2/2010
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I just wanted to let you know what a pleasant experience I had when I had the unfortunate event of my transmission completely failing in my 1994 Lexus ES300. First of all, this all started with me being stranded 30 miles away from home while away at work. The transmission had been acting up so I called to get an appointment for a check-up later in the week. I didn't make the appointment needless to say, the car would not move, except in reverse! I called Jim's and talked to Melissa explaining the situation and she promptly sent out a tow truck to retrieve my car. Upon delivery of the car to the shop, it was inspected and Max called me to explain that the transmission had failed and would need to be rebuilt. Understandably, with a car that had 184k miles on it, that it was time for some repairs to a transmission I never did anything to, except have the fluid replaced at regular frequency. Max explained the process, the timing of the repairs, the cost and answered my questions regarding the transmission and car. The transmission was repaired on time, as specified in the estimate, good as new. The staff at Jim & Son's Transmission were professional, courteous, and had me back on the road again as promised. I would recommend anyone that is experiencing transmission difficulties to pay a visit to Jim & Son's Transmission. I subsequently taken my two cars for transmission maintenance and I will not go anywhere else based on my first experience! Thank you Melissa, Max and staff.

    Matt Beck – Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
    10/2/2010
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Thank you for your excellent work you did stopping the transmission on my car from leaking fluid. I appreciate the manner in which you took my car in, inspected it and repaired it. I would also like to say thanks for telling me the charges for your work which were 100% less than I had anticipated. I'm wishing that you will continue to have the best of success in your business.

    Bob Doherty – Akron Ohio
    10/2/2010
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • We just wanted to take a moment to thank you for the excellent service we received at your shop. Our truck was ready when you said it would be ready. When we experienced a problem with the truck shortly after the repair, it was towed promptly and fixed immediately. There was no additional charge even though it had nothing to do with the original repair. With service like Jim & Son's I understand why you're the best transmission shop in the Akron Ohio area! Thank you again for a great job.

    Brennan Kolton – Stow Ohio
    10/2/2010
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • My 4 wheel drive hasn't worked in about 3 years. Finally having put the funds together to even think about getting it looked at, I sought out a garage. The important aspect was getting a garage to diagnose the problem correctly, I didn't want someone just throwing parts at it, hoping to fix the problem. Another garage recommended Jim & Sons. Dan diagnosed 2 different problems, with a cost factor for each. I will say I am amazed at the accurate diagnostics along staying true to the estimates! To further better the experience at Jim & Sons, the problems were fixed 2 days prior than expected. Although I only got to try out the 4 wheel drive in the snow for the last big snow we had, I'm impressed. Jim & Sons doesn't only fix transmissions, but axles & computer related problems as well. Thank you Dan & Amanda for keeping me updated with the expected return of my vehicle depending on availability of the parts you had to order. I was surprised they had rental vehicles at a reasonable rate. They even offered a ride back home after I dropped off my vehicle! I highly recommend Jim & Sons.

    Carl Brown – Stow Ohio
    9/3/2012
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I would recommend Jim & Sons to everyone. Thought I had a transmissions problem for several months, afraid to go to the dealer!!!They got me right in, great service & excellent price. Was not a transmission problem at all!!! Thank you everyone at Jim & Sons!

    Tom Callihan – Akron Ohio
    4/15/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Fantastic! Did the job well for a great price. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I won't take my car anywhere else. Would recommend to anyone!

    Nathan Swift – Cleveland Ohio
    2/24/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Thank you for the resurrection of my Honda CRV. The transmission went out on it and after getting an estimate from another garage I had it brought into Jim & Sons. They towed the car, diagnosed the problem, gave me an estimate and even had it towed back to my house. At first we were going to just sell it as the cost was hard to swallow for a 2001 with 175K miles BUT with their estimate was a comment that the rest of the car was in very good shape and would last as long as the transmission. After deciding on the fix they towed it back to the shop - FREE OF CHARGE - and advised me of the updated estimate after then got into it. The fixed it in record time and even fixed a couple of other issues for the cost of the parts only. The car runs and handles like new. THANKS GUYS for saving me another car payment and giving new life AND VALUE to my CRV!

    Heath Katy & Nolan Taylor – Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
    6/2/2014
    • Cleanliness
    • Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction